3rd HcG test arrives, Waking up from haze of apathy

1 Sep

I’ve been busy with work and other things since Monday and I have been blissfully oblivious and tuned out of whatever is going on down there.  The results arrived yesterday for Hcg test and I have just let it sit in my in box.   Very unlike me.  It was weirdly empowering to know I could read them, but that I could wait to read them on my own time when I am ready (not when a doctor calls out of the blue and gets my mind racing).

If the results are good or bad, they really mean nothing without the confirmation of the ultrasound.  Before reading them, my estimate is that they are either inconclusive good or inconclusive bad and either way I will just obsess until Friday where I may or may not learn anything new.  Being on the edge is just too exhausting.  Being busy and oblivious was so much better.

Ok. so here goes.  I am going to step back into reality and check it out and see finally…

Phew!  11515. My last one (6 days ago) was 8434 and back when I first test 1709 (3 weeks ago).  That is an increase, but I would hardly say it is doubling.  They send this chart with each result.  Based on that maybe I am either 5-6 weeks or 2-3 months along.  What a crazy chart!  I guess it just means that people vary widely showing that these numbers are really just relative to each individual.

Gestational Age Expected HCG
0-1 Week 5-50
1-2 Weeks 50-500
2-3 Weeks 100-5,000
3-4 Weeks 500-10,000
4-5 Weeks 1,000-50,000
5-6 Weeks 10,000-100,000
6-8 Weeks 15,000-200,000
2-3 Months 10,000-100,000

The nervous nelly in my says my numbers are slowing down, it is a sign for the worse.  The other side of me is just tired and doesn’t want to waste time obsessing with incomplete information.  It is what it is at this point and there’s not much I can do except take my vitamins and meds and avoid the list of stuff I can’t eat, drink, etc. just in case- so still no high impact exercise, wine, hot tubs, or intercourse.  4 great stress relievers on hold.

Fingers crossed.  Grow little sac, grow!

One Response to “3rd HcG test arrives, Waking up from haze of apathy”

  1. Foxypopcorn September 1, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    My fingers are SO crossed for you!

Leave a Reply

