Grateful for Group!

13 Oct

My pregnancy loss support group was good last night.  I met two new women who also had 3 losses, so we had a lot in common. I got everyone’s attention when I mentioned the trans-location. One of the women in the group had no results from her third loss because they people in the emergency room FORGOT to take a sample! She was at 14 weeks, too. She was understandably frustrated. In comparison I feel grateful I had a semi-scheduled D&C without the Emergency room drama of bleeding, esp. so far into the pregnancy. She had announced it to friends, family and Facebook, etc. After hearing her story, I am afraid to feel any confidence even after 12 weeks along.

Although the evidence is incomplete I am already thinking about what our next steps will be if our tests show that we have genetic issues.  My doctor and others in the know seems to suggest that IVF with PGD is the way to go.  However, I read that even PGD only tests 7 of the 23 chromosomes. To test them all you have to wait a month which means you have to actually freeze the embryo while you are waiting for the results. Oh, the drama! I image that impacts the odds of it working out as well. Also, I heard in group last night the pregnancies that were tested with PGD have a higher miscarriage rate than those that didn’t do the test. So much info!

Good news is we got our approval today to schedule an appointment. I am going to call first thing tomorrow morning. Also, at my loss group  I learned about an upcoming seminar at Stanford “Prevailing Over Recurrent Pregnancy Loss” with medical experts that you can talk to on the subject.

Finally someone in group talked about taking Xanex(sp?) to combat depression and loving it. She mentioned she only uses it on “special occasions” as it is addictive. According to the survey we took I am in the moderately depressed group (no surprise). I am considering taking antidepressants as well, mostly so my husband can have a happy wife again as I’ve been really down since this stuff all started almost 3 years ago.

3 Responses to “Grateful for Group!”

  1. Courtney October 14, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Thanks for mentioning the seminar, Starfishkittydreams. I just looked it up and I think I’m going to attend. I’m so happy that they are doing this. I feel like there is not enough doctor-patient interaction regarding miscarriages. My doctor only has so much time to sit with me and talk about my options and my fear. Plus, it will feel amazing to be in a room filled with women who have experienced what I have, as I have yet to find someone locally who has as there are no support groups in Sonoma County.

    Thanks again. I hope I leave there with more hope for myself and a future pregnancy.

    Do you think you will attend?

    Courtney

  2. starfishkittydreams October 14, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    Yes, I am looking forward to it.

    Someone in the group attended the previous one and really liked it. She found it encouraging.

    It is great that you live within driving distance. Let me know if you would like to meet face to face!

  3. Courtney October 14, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Do you know if you have to be a patient there? I hope that is not the case, I’m a little confused.

    And yes! I would love to meet face to face! I sent in a request for a seat, so I will hopefully be there. I’m really looking forward to it…I need something encouraging.

    Feel free to email me!

Leave a Reply

