One Day Away!

7 Dec

I’ve been on a bit of a break from blogging and thinking about all things baby/pregnancy.  Ignorance and distraction is bliss!  Going to Maine for Thanksgiving and seeing family definitely helped me recharge the batteries and downshift from being really overly stressed.  I got the smiley face on my OPK test kit finally on Day 23 of my cycle (Tuesday before Thanksgiving) and we gave it a shot that night only to jet off the next day to Maine.  (To up our chances we probably should have given it a go in the morning too, but we were tight on time).

Since then I’ve just let it all go— eating, drinking and doing all the things I probably should avoid if it actually worked like still having sex, drinking wine and eating sushi and cookie dough (that’s right, uncooked eggs, yum!).    I have been careful to avoid any spoiled food though (including the 5-day old shrimp my dad offered us all, yikes!).  That has more to do with my body remembering food poisoning from a few months ago (blah!).  I think I was more cautious previously but I’ve decided this round that until I get a confirmed positive to not restrict myself.

So tomorrow I will go in for a blood test to find out.  Previously I used those home tests, but if you read my previous posts you can see that I had some mixed results.  It took about 4 tests before I got a positive which means I will forever doubt a negative test and wonder.  Since I am taking progesterone it seems very final to just stop and bring on your period when there may be a doubt about if you might be pregnant or not.  This blood test should confirm for sure and then I can go on my way and enjoy my weekend (NYC with college girlfriends! Thurs-Sun).  If I get a negative I can REALLY drink it up ;  )

I am pretty pessimistic that it will be positive as I’ve already had a bit of bleeding.  It seems like my cycle just wants to start.  So for one more day I can be hopeful and then I’ll start thinking about round 2.  Last time I was lucky and it took 2 rounds with the drugs.  I hardly expect it to work in only 1 round this time.  In addition, my body isn’t responding to the Femara as well this time, so we’ll see. Anyway, here’s to today.

3 Responses to “One Day Away!”

  1. bodegabliss December 7, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    oh! good luck! you definitely seem to be in better spirits now that you’re back from your trip (and how fun you’re going to NYC with your girlfriends. jealous!). i’m so happy you’re doing better. it’s an inspiration. 🙂

  2. Misfit December 7, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    I was thinking of you and wondering how things went. I’ve got the fingers crossed for your draw and that it surprises you in a good way. Either way a weekend with friends is an amazing remedy, with or without the drinks! Of course I hope it’s without, but it’s great timing to soothe thus cycle if it is with drinks.

  3. Foxypopcorn December 11, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    I like your approach to all of this – just proceed as normal until you get that positive. After so many months of trying ‘au natural’ fretting about all of my behavior during the final two weeks of each month and later coming to find out at no point was it possible that I could be pregnant, it is nice to not think about it anymore.

Leave a Reply

