Fingers crossed on round 4!

5 Jan

The two week wait is over and I actually have good news.  I got two bars on my pee test yesterday!    I was really not expecting it.  None of the usual symptoms and a lot of random spotting mid cycle (which seemed like a bad sign to me and didn’t fit the description of “implantation bleeding”).    I was so confident that I had sushi last weekend and a few cocktails on our vacation in Puerto Rico (not to mention a video game dance-a-thon with lots of jumping around when we returned… that was to burn off the pina colada calories).  The only things I abstained from was scuba diving per my RE’s strong recommendation and moving really heavy stuff and cleaning the cat litter (cause who wants to do that anyway). Good thing I happened to skip the hotel hot tub and finished my Christmas baking avoiding the irresistible temptation of  delicious uncooked cookie dough.  You might say I just kind of let it all go this month (unlike my previous months where I really did try to stay away from the forbidden pleasures during the 14 days).

Unlike last time when I had a mix of incomplete and negative tests followed by a positive (due to my stubborn persistence) on Day 16, this time was positive on Day 14.  Miracles due happen!

I am thrilled to get some good news but VERY cautious to think more than 1 day at a time.  It just feels really soon after the last loss and so I find myself feeling very guarded. I didn’t want to tell ANYONE for a full 24 hours because I was afraid it wasn’t real or I’d somehow jinx it.

I just want to think in the now and not think about what may be the inevitable heartbreak to come. While some people start planning their nurseries when they get a positive test result, I am just hoping that this time I can hold it together no matter what happens.

6 Responses to “Fingers crossed on round 4!”

  1. bodegabliss January 5, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    Yay! This is such great news! Congratulatons! I’m going to keep my fingers crossed for you and keep thinking good thoughts.

    (also, the hubby and I honeymooned in Puerto Rico! Did you enjoy it? We looooved it.)

  2. Nelly January 6, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    AWESOME!!! So happy for you! Stick baby stick! I’m going through the same anxiety 🙂 We can be crazy worriers together.

  3. Misfits January 6, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    This is incredible news! I am over the moon. Fingers and toes and everything firmly crossed. This is starting off great!

  4. Foxypopcorn January 6, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Oh Yeahhh! This is great news. Despite your fears, it is definitely worthy of a great big Congratulations! For today, for right now, you have a little life growing inside. I am sending that perfect little life so much love and hope and strength.

    It was almost as wonderful to read that you had a great vacation and just lived your life! I know how hard it is to just let go and enjoy friends and family, and it sounds like you did just that. I think that is really great. This is a good life, and our only one to live right?

    Congratulations, my friend. I’ll be keeping you in my heart these next few days and weeks and months!

    Grow Baby Grow!

  5. melissa January 10, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    Congratulations!!!

  6. jill January 11, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

