Sperm DNA Frag

2 May

On the off chance that Mr. Starfish’s little swimmers are contributing to the miscarriages our RE recommended we get another test, a Sperm DNA Fragmentation Assay.   I just faxed in the request form to ReproSource Fertility Diagnostics.  According to our RE they are the only ones in the country that do this, so perhaps others have some experience working with them as well.

Meanwhile I got my final BFN today.  Ever since my late BFP on pregnancy #3 (I got a positive result two days late) I don’t completely trust those test kits to get it right on day 14.  I really have to rely on these test kits since I am taking progesterone supplements which prevent me from starting my cycle.  I have this little fear of ending the progesterone early and then ending what may have been a possible pregnancy by mistake.  Somehow testing a day or too extra and getting multiple negative tests makes me feel more confident stopping the progesterone.  I can rest knowing I gave this cycle a real chance and didn’t prematurely cut short another chance at a baby.

3 Responses to “Sperm DNA Frag”

  1. Hope May 2, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    My DH is having the same test run. I’m not sure which lab will be running the test, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s the same one. It seems like a pretty specialized test . . .

    So sorry about your BFN this cycle. I totally hear you on wanting to be sure you’re *not* pregnant before stopping the progesterone. I would be doing the same thing in your shoes (I don’t get early BFP’s either).

  2. Karen May 2, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    My husband had the same test done. And with the same lab.

    • starfishkittydreams June 3, 2011 at 9:57 am #

      We finally sent it off this week! That was a lot more complicated than I expected with the Fed Ex deliveries, dry ice, timing and shipping. They thoughtfully sent us a box that said in big letters “Fertility Test” for shipping it back. Nice touch! Now we wait…

Leave a Reply

