A new start (back to TTC again) and going on year 16 with kitty

3 May

Now that last month is officially awash I am back to square one.   Like magic I stopped taking the progesterone and my cycle started up.  Today is cycle Day 1, a fresh start.

This round I am going to try and take better care of myself- cutting back on caffeine (switching to decaf, or half-calf), doing weekly acupuncture, squeezing in at least 1 yoga workout a week, exercising more and even doing some meditation.  Last month I felt like I let myself go, barely working out, drinking way too much caffeine and just being a stressed lazy mess.  While I love my morning coffee, I think I am more addicted to the sweet kick and am going to try to have a fruit smoothie instead.  Yoga is one of those things I mocked for feeling like it was just a waste of time and didn’t make any difference.   I just went to a class this afternoon and my body (and brain) can feel the difference.    I can dust off my Anji  meditations and try to do a few of those, or just some non-fertility related ones on days that I need a stress break.  The beauty of yoga and acupuncture is they have meditation components built in, so it’s almost like a meditation bonus.

Another stress I need to manage better is my cat.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE my cat, but in his old age he’s become quite high maintenance and more difficult to care for. Do they make diapers for cats?  If so, that is exactly what we need.   The poor guy, 16-years old, diagnosed with lymphoma has a lot of issues and one of those is randomly peeing.  Just now he jumped on my lap for love and I put the laptop aside so he could have my full attention.  As I was stroking him he relaxed and then jut let it go, right on me!  He’s peed in weird places before, but not usually ON us.  So I jumped up and ran him to the litter box and meanwhile had to clean myself up and deal with  getting the stains out of the chair I was in.  Clearly he didn’t mean it.  He is just losing control there and we are playing defense trying to catch him before he stains another rug or quilt. I feel pretty helpful to do much about it.

Despite his peeing habit he is doing much better, even gained 2 lbs!  He went from almost 6 lbs up to 8 lbs and 3 oz. in about a month.  I am so glad to see his weight up.  Watching him waste away was so painful.  Managing all his needs is a handful from daily meds to weekly blood tests at the vet to special food.  We do it because we are in denial that he’s going to leave us, but it is going to take a turn and pretty soon we will have to let him go.  Knowing we could lose him any day I’ve taken on the care, but it’s not easy.

4 Responses to “A new start (back to TTC again) and going on year 16 with kitty”

  1. Another Dreamer May 7, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your cat 😦

    It’s really hard when your animals start to age like that. I’m dealing with that right now with two senior dogs, it’s tough.

  2. bodegabliss May 12, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    hey there lady! i’m finally getting back into the blogs after my break. i’m jealous you got to spend some time in maine. i hope you gave it some love for me! 🙂

    i’m sorry about your kitty. i bet you could buy human diapers in a tiny size and they’d work! i swear they can feel embarrassed, too. just make it up to him in lots of love. poor guy!

    you sound like you’re doing really well, and that makes me really happy! i like that you said CD1 was a fresh start….that’s a great way to look at it. Yay!

  3. Carla June 7, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Of course they make kitty and puppy diapers. Buy the puppy size XS since your kitty is small and they should work. My 14 year old kitty went through liver problems his last year, had special food and meds. I know you must love him a lot and you’re doing everything you can to make him feel better. Keep up the good work.

    • starfishkittydreams June 7, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      You are so understanding and knowledgable! He’s cut back, but still has his accidents when I least expect it. I am sorry to hear your kitty had liver problems. Is he doing better now? Senior kitties are so fragile.

Leave a Reply

