First ultrasound

15 Jun

I thought this day would never come.  Today was my first ultrasound (u/s) and there was NOTHING WRONG!  It actually looked on track for 6 weeks!  Given how early it was I wasn’t expecting to see much but we actually saw a heartbeat.  Not just a heartbeat, but a “normal” heartbeat.   I couldn’t believe it!  The last time we saw a heartbeat was back in ’09 for pregnancy #2, but it was at 7 weeks and they reported that it was too slow so we already knew something was wrong.  It was 80-90 bpm which is not fast, but apparently ok for 6 weeks.  I am scheduled to go back in a week to take a look.

My last 4 pregnancies all looked odd at the very first u/s.  I had no idea what a “normal” u/s looked like until today.  Even if it all goes downhill I’ve definitely hit a new milestone and I am feeling cautiously optimistic.  This fluke pregnancy that snuck up on me after 3 negative tests and a mental ramp up and investment in an IUI round has taken me by surprise.  I should be sticking myself with needles at this point and instead I got another chance doing exactly what we did the last few times- Femara + timed intercourse.  Right now I am just taking progesterone suppositories, prenatal vitamins, DHA fish oil supplements and baby aspirin and staring at my injectibles in the fridge afraid to move them.  To cover the Eastern medicine side I am also doing acupuncture and my daily moxa.

Mentally I am so happy and still absorbing this news, while also being too afraid to be really excited.  We have to wait a week before we get to have another look.  There is still plenty of time for things to go wrong, but for now, no bad news = excellent news!

9 Responses to “First ultrasound”

  1. Misfit Mrs. June 15, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    I was thinking of you today. Normal is a huge milestone. Congratulations on new ground. I am hoping hard for your next scan, too. It’s time for months(and months) of normal.

  2. Port of Indecision June 16, 2011 at 5:32 am #

    Great news! I feel like I’m reading lots of good 6w-ish ultrasound reports these days, so hopefully something is catching!

  3. Hope June 16, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    Congratulations on a normal ultrasound! I hope things keep going well for you!!!!

  4. Mo June 16, 2011 at 6:54 am #

    This is amazing news! Crossing my fingers for you! Huge hugs

  5. starfishkittydreams June 16, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Thank you for the encouraging comments! I am trying not to get too ahead of myself with expectations. This feels almost unreal.

  6. missohkay June 16, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    Great news! Hope your next look gives you more confidence. Thinking of you!

  7. Foxypopcorn June 18, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    OMG OMG OMG! I wish I could communicate in a comment how happy this news makes me. Cautious optimism is oozing out of my happy smile right now. 🙂

  8. Amy-Lynn June 20, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    YAY!!! This is great news.

  9. Kristen June 21, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Wow, so happy for you! Hoping that the good news continues!
    xo

Leave a Reply

