Poking gone right!

19 Aug

It’s been a bloody week.  I had 3 blood draws and my cycle started!  You can read about my first blood draw which should have been the easy one in Poking Gone Wrong and ended in Urgent Care.  On Wednesday we went to the Alan Beers Center for immunology center where they drew blood from me and Mr. Star.  He lucked out with only 3, while I had to do 10.  My body gave up after 9 and two poke attempts (aargh!).  Today I had the biggest one (17 vials!) and I was required to fast too.  Expecting disaster I went armed with my big bottle of OJ and fingers crossed.  With the right touch she got all 17 out of me!  Woo hoo!  I am SO done with blood draws for the week.

Sorry for the gory pic, but man am I proud!  17 vials!  Count ’em!

Dare me to post this to Facebook anyone?

 

 

7 Responses to “Poking gone right!”

  1. bodegabliss August 19, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Oh my word! 17 is A LOT of freaking blood! sorry for the scare the previous time! crazy. Welcome back from vacation! xoxo

  2. Misfit Mrs. August 20, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    Amazing job! I can’t wait to see what is next!

  3. Mo August 20, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    Congrats on making it! I say post it on facebook to freak out the fertiles. 🙂

  4. missohkay August 20, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    You are a badass. That is all 🙂

  5. Foxy August 21, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    I almost laughed out loud when you suggested posting to facebook! if only!
    and I agree, you are a BADASS! for this blood draw and for everything that has taken place before it.

  6. Another Dreamer August 24, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Whew, that’s a lot!

    You should totally post it on FB lol

  7. Kelli September 4, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    Holy Hell that’s a lot of blood!! You are awesome and apparently so was your phlebotomist! I just came across your blog and I am so sorry to read your story. I have wondered about joining a support group but haven’t had the nerve to try it. I personally know someone who was successful with Dr. Z, so I wish you all the best of luck!! She recommended him to us and we ended up not going there bc of our insurance (looking back it wouldn’t have made a difference!) I will be following your journey and I wish you all the best.

Leave a Reply

