We’re back!

28 Nov

So after a long hiatus from trying and failing we are back to trying again to get this family started.   Since it’s been so long since I’ve posted I feel like I should give a recap of what’s been going on.  After 5 consecutive pregnancy losses (each at 8-10 weeks) we dragged ourselves to the Alan Beers Center in August to look at possible immunology causes and treatments.  According to their nurses they have an 85% success rate, that is IF you follow all their recommendations.  So we bit the bullet and went for it.  After spending thousands on blood tests we were told I had elevated Natural Killer Cells and low Leukocyte Antibodies.  Based on this we were advised to go to Mexico twice for Leukocyte Immune Therapy to treat both issues.

We did it (see previous post) with two trips to Mexico and got retested to see if our levels improved.  Our test results came back today and (drumroll) our numbers are excellent now!

  • LAD
    Before :19.7
    Now: 95.9 (Excellent!  We were just shooting for 50 to be in the “healthy” range.)
  • NK Assay 50:1
    Before: 21
    Now: 14.5 (normal, no longer elevated)
  • NK Assay 25:1
    Before: 11
    Now: 7.1(normal, no longer elevated)
The only test number that is still in the problem zone is my CD56 ( These are the NK cells in the uterus) They went from 19 to 17.8 (and should be 12 or less).  Because we have elevated CD56, they want us to do an infusion of IVIG if/when I get a positive pregnancy test. This is supposed to help”calm” my killer immune response in the uterus during pregnancy.  I am not at all excited to do this one as IVIG still creeps me out a bit plus it is pricey, $2500 per infusion.
I started Femara this month to up my odds (my last three pregnancies happened in month 2 on Femara).  Here’s hoping we get lucky in the first few months again.
On the emotional front I’ve just been crashing.  The anxiety from waiting for all the treatments and tests and wondering if any of this makes any difference and if we we will EVER have a healthy baby is back in full force.  Sometimes it was even hard to read others’ blogs on the subject which is why I stayed away.
January will mark our four year anniversary for trying for a baby.  With each loss I felt my own level of confidence and satisfaction with life just plummet further.  Four years later, this whole thing has gone from fun to a complete nightmare full of humiliation, heartbreak and a constant fear of time running out.
Right now I am trying to think positive, relax and get into a low stress mode that is more conducive to baby making.  According to my fertility friend calendar my peak day will be on Thursday of this week.
10 Responses to “We’re back!”

  1. Hope November 28, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Good luck this cycle! I’m glad that most of your numbers are now in normal range. That is a fabulous result on the LAD!!!! I’m sorry you’re going to have to do the IVIG, but I hope it all results in a healthy baby the next time you get pregnant.

    • starfishkittydreams November 28, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

      And I am hoping good things for your LIT treatment. Let me know if you need any tips for Nogales.

  2. missohkay November 28, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Welcome back! Glad to see an update and wishing you luck next cycle!

  3. Jjiraffe November 28, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    Good luck and glad you’re back! I know someone who did IVIG and it worked 🙂

  4. mrs. brightside November 28, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Welcome back! And thanks for the recap. I started seeing an immunology doc myself – we go back next week to hear our results and get recommendations. I still haven’t decided if we’ll go forward with these kinds of treatments, I’m a little freaked out by them too. I’m trying to not think about it til we meet the doc again, and then we have some time since we’re heading into IVF so the soonest we could pregnant isn’t until February. (ugh.)

    I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been down. I can certainly relate to everything you are going through. I’m hoping you find your calm baby-making groove, and that your luck turns around soon.

  5. bodegabliss November 28, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    Yay, welcome back! I’ve been thinking about you a lot, hoping you’re doing okay. I’m so happy your results are so good!

    Question – are those blood tests routine tests that an RE does? I’m guessing the question is no, but I wanted to ask.

  6. Amy-Lynn November 29, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    I’m glad you are back, and I am praying for a successful cycle for you. Is there a reason for doing IVIG over Intralipid? Intralipids are much more affordable, and seem to have the same success rates. Also less risk with intralipids b/c they are not a blood borne product. I only ask because I did intralipids instead of IVIG. Good Luck!

    • starfishkittydreams November 29, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      That is a really good question. I would definitely prefer Intralipid, even though they recommended IVIG. When I asked them, they told me that IVIG is more effective. I can ask them for more details.

  7. Katie November 29, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    So glad you are back. Wishing you lots of luck during this upcoming cycle!

  8. Detour December 1, 2011 at 6:22 am #

    Hi there. I’m so sad to read about your losses and everything you’ve been through. I’ve had 2 losses and fear I have immunological issues, too, but don’t want to explore them further unless my doc pushes us (hello, denial). I so hope the new treatments you are doing are the answer for you.

Leave a Reply

