What happened to watching TV?

6 Dec

I was feeling down and wanted to get my mind off of my worries so I sat down to watch one of my favorite sitcoms (How I Met Your Mother) with Mr. Star and holy crap, what just happened? That was the single most depressing episode ever.  It was cleverly called “Robin will never be a pole vaulter”.  It starts out with the character Robin finding out she is pregnant unintentionally.  Here is an episode recap.  As this is going on I am thinking “Great!  The only two characters on this show are now BOTH pregnant.  Yeah!  Just what I want to watch right now”.  But then it takes a turn and she finds out she isn’t pregnant followed by the doctor telling her that the tests found she will NEVER be able to have kids.  Holy shit!  What tests are these?  While I appreciate they didn’t go the saccarin sweet route of having another happy-go-lucky pregnancy on the show I felt SO incredibly sad about this character.  It’s essentially my greatest fear, right?  Finding out all of this will NEVER work.  I just got back on the trying wagon after a way too long break while doing questionable treatments that may or may not have any affect whatsoever and feeling at my lowest counting the months and years I’ve spent trying to make this work (it will be 4 years when the year ends).  The only thing that keeps me going is the hope that it just might work someday.  Watching this show just felt like a shot in the face.  The message they were trying to communicate (I think) is that not everyone has kids and that is ok.   Unfortunately, what it sounded like to me was there are people who can and people who can’t.  Which one do you think I seem to be?

TV is just another thing that has started to suck for me.  The topic of pregnancy and pregnant characters pops up so much.  Before this all started I found it all so sweet and charming.  Now it just kills me and I find myself feeling actually angry while watching the shows instead of laughing and enjoying myself like I used to.    The character “Pam” from “The Office” is another one I used to like and now I can’t stand.  Going out and socializing with your peers is hard enough during this, but it seems like an extra insult to have to give up TV too.

Clearly I watch too much TV and need to be doing something more productive with my time.  Video games anyone?

11 Responses to “What happened to watching TV?”

  1. SJ December 6, 2011 at 5:08 am #

    Um, I couldn’t agree more. WTF was that? It was bad enough watching the ridiculous “infertility” storyline last season — but there is NO need for a sitcom to do this. And I would like to know what the magic test was, because if I had that done three years ago I could have saved myself a lot of heartache.

    Best of all was watching this knowing that I’m staring at a BFN on our last chance IVF. Stupid to get so worked up about a tv show ~ but I can’t help it.

  2. missohkay December 6, 2011 at 5:17 am #

    My DH blamed me for Robin’s infertility because I bitch so much about Lily’s pregnancy… he was like, “SEE? Are you happy now??!!” Yes, yes I am. I also thought the blood test thing was funny, but all in all, I liked the episode A LOT. I’m having trouble explaining why exactly… I appreciate the show because even though it’s a comedy, it doesn’t shy away from the messiness of life. Marshall’s dad dying, Robin’s infertility. While it wasn’t factually perfect, I thought it was emotionally spot-on.

    • missohkay December 6, 2011 at 5:23 am #

      I’d much rather watch a comedy handle the topic deftly than, say, Grey’s Anatomy which I find intentionally as emotionally draining as possible and just plain idiotic 😀 Also, I am loving Parenthood’s adoption story line (after a false start there with some stupid “buying babies” lines).

  3. Amy December 6, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    I haven’t seen this yet but I do catch reruns a lot, so thanks for the warning. Without having seen it, I’m split – like missohkay says, it’s nice that they don’t totally dodge the issue, but I also do feel sick to my stomach just reading about it. I think it will probably piss me off, too, when I do see it.

  4. Detour December 6, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    Ugh, I had to stop watching The Office after Pam got pregnant right after my first miscarriage. I’m way behind on HIMYM but I’m sure Lily’s pregnancy will annoy the heck outta me.

  5. jjiraffe December 6, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    I saw it too, because of all the chatter on Twitter. It definitely hit home in a way that was hard to describe. I think it was handled really well (and Cobie Smulders hit it out of the park) but it was BLEAK and sad. I don’t think anyone who watched it not knowing about infertility would come out of that episode thinking infertility isn’t an incredibly sad and terrible thing. And that kind of awareness is priceless. But if were in the middle of my infertility journey, it would have been devastating for me to watch. Robin’s fate was my worst fear.

  6. loribeth December 7, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I saw the show last night, bawled over it, blogged about it. I am really appreciating your point about how the message seemed to be that there are people who can & people who can’t. There ARE people who just DON’T (don’t want to) — & Robin WAS one of those up until this episode. In a way, it’s a little annoying that they had to turn her into someone who couldn’t — it’s like they had to give her a “better”/more acceptable reason for not having kids than that she simply didn’t want them. Because not everyone DOES have kids, for many, many reasons — and whatever those reasons are, it’s OK. (Or should be.)

    Great food for thought, thanks!

  7. Hope December 13, 2011 at 6:33 am #

    Okay, total nerd coming out here, but I can’t comment on this show, because, not only do I not watch it I don’t watch TV. At All. Reading your post, and Jjiraffe’s, I kind of wished I did though. And I wonder if I found this episode somewhere and watched it, if it would have any meaning to me without the context of the whole show . . .

    Anyway, I’m sorry that your favorite show went and stopped being funny entertainment. And on a completely different note, I’m passing along an award I got . . . Check out my latest blog posting!

  8. Juniper February 16, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    This episode was amazing. I recently found out that I’m infertile, and since then, watching TV has been torture. Every female lead seems to be pregnant, and those who aren’t, already have kids. This episode may have left you feeling a bit pessimistic, and I don’t want to bum you out, but some women CAN’T have kids. Ever. And this episode, in a very positive light, shows that it’s okay. If women (or men) do find out they are infertile, it’s okay to be sad. It’s okay to be REALLY sad, even if you weren’t sure you wanted kids in the first place. It’s okay to mourn. It’s okay to suffer this alone.

    The show should win a pile of Emmys for this episode. Cobie Smulders and the writers got it dead on. It’s a difficult anguish to understand, but they got it and handled it very sensitively. Finally, our story is being told in a way that doesn’t end up with Monica and Chandler adopting twins.

  9. Maq October 5, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    I know this is really late, but I just started watching HIMYM recently and just got to this episode. HIMYM has a lot of episodes that have affected me this way– like Marshall losing his dad. I lost my dad the same way two years ago, and I sat and I cried over that episode for a while. But–I do believe that they handled the episode incredibly well, and Cobie just…completely blew it away. I do wish now and again that they’d have content warnings at the beginning of an episode so we’d know whether we were going to cry or just laugh the way through it though, so I wouldn’t say “Well, this will be the last episode I watch for the night,” only to end up snottily crying for the next two hours.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. That HIMYM Infertility Episode: Looking Into the Abyss | Too Many Fish to Fry - December 7, 2011

    […] my worst waking nightmare was that I would have to face that abyss. So I definitely sympathize with Starfish Kitty Dreams about her […]

Leave a Reply

