Riding the wave

3 Oct

I had my second hcg test yesterday morning.  When I hadn’t heard from them by 4 PM I began to worry that maybe there was something like maybe it was lower, or hadn’t quite doubled.  But they reported good news,  my hcg actually did more than double it jumped from 505 to 1232.

I feel like a surfer who just caught a wave.  How long til the crash?  Or maybe this time will I ride it to the end?  Noone knows.  The one thing I do know is that this rush of good things happening is often very short so I am trying to just live for the moment, grateful for this gift for as long as it lasts.

Since we did chromosomal testing we actually already know the gender. It’s bizarre to know this so early, but we know that if this is the one it’s going to be a little girl.  We ended up with 3 male and 3 female embryos so we could have gone either way, but since we were implanting only one we had to make a choice.  Go little girl, you can do it!

And speaking of family building we have some new additions.  We’ve adopted kittens!  This summer we were kitten foster parent volunteers  and were able to foster ten kittens, a group of 3, then 4, and now 3 again.  From this last batch we are adopting two (or three if we can’t part with the third).  It’s been a wonderful distraction and a lot of fun.  This last group was only 3 weeks old when we picked them up and each was under 1 lb.! 

 

 

 

Here is what they look like today at 9 weeks old.

 

For now these are my babies.  :  )

12 Responses to “Riding the wave”

  1. Hope October 3, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Congrats on the great rise in your HCG!

    And what adorable kitties! I am totally jealous!

    • starfishkittydreams October 3, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

      Thank you! It is still “kitten season”, so there are still lots of kittens that need adopting if you are looking for one. ; )

      • Hope October 3, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

        I wish! Unfortunately, we live in a no pets apartment and I’m allergic to cats. Not a good combination for adopting a kitten!

        But I will enjoy your pics! All the cuteness and none of the itchy eyes. 😉

  2. Amy October 3, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Yessss!! So happy for your good news! You have a wonderful outlook in trying to enjoy every moment while it’s here, but we are here to listen and lean on if at any point you also need to vent (I was an anxious wreck for at least the first 20 weeks!). I hope it’s all smooth sailing from here – thanks for continuing to share your journey with us!

    • starfishkittydreams October 3, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

      Thank you for the reality check. I’ll likely get even more nervous around the first ultrasound. In the past, this is where problems tend to appear. That’s a few weeks out though.

  3. birminghambell October 3, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    They’re so fluffy I could die!!!!!! 🙂 (quote from dispicaple me if you haven’t seen it!)

  4. Misfit Mrs. October 3, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    This is a great second beta. Those kittens are incredibly cute. I miss having cats so much. Go little girl! Free rent, food and all you can binge lovefest awaits you inSFKD parents!

  5. Trisha October 3, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Hoping your little girl holds on tight! That is a great second beta and I’m so happy for you!

  6. whitney October 4, 2012 at 5:50 am #

    girls are fighters! hang in there gijane! we got two baby kittens sorta saved them out of a trash can filled with water those two lil girls me to our house te month before our IVF they as you said surfed a heck of wave out they brought me so much comfort joy and just unconditional love, seriously kitten dod things that can make even mona lisa smile! keep up the numbers!

  7. whitney October 15, 2012 at 7:38 am #

    been watching and just checkn on you hope things are good and you are well

  8. Christine September 19, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

    I’m only a year late…lol…just stumbled upon your blog now. My husband and I had been TTC for almost a year and I was stressing about not getting pregnant. We decided to buy a puppy….A few weeks later….I got my first BFP….we are now @7 weeks. Talk about “Pet Therapy” 🙂

Leave a Reply

