Week 12: We made it!

25 Nov

We made it to week 12 on Friday (2 days ago)!  We are officially in the second trimester for the first time ever!  I am in disbelief about it all and have been feeling a bit numb, not the tears of joy I was expecting to feel if/when we ever made it this far.  While I don’t expect the other shoe to drop, I am still not ready to be super celebratory.  I guess given our history it’s expect to be cautious.

Since my last post I’ve “graduated” to several milestones.  I am free from my gluten-free/dairy-free diet.  I’ve stopped the prescribed meds (metformin and progesterone).  And my acupuncturist said I can go back down to 1x week.  The biggest milestone came at our ten week ultrasound when they were able to use the ultrasound wand on my stomach.  Sadly I’ve had SO many transvaginal ultrasounds I just thought that was all there was.  I somehow believed the stomach kind was for people who were “really” pregnant. So when the nurse was able to scan straight from my stomach and show us a fetus with actual hands and feet I was completely blown away, like she was talking to someone else.  It was such an opposite experience compared with my 8 weeks scan two weeks earlier with Dr. Mean.

Thank you to everyone for giving the courage to change doctors.  No more Dr. Mean!  Since the new doctor (someone I’ve seen for previous pregnancies) seems to be super busy they’ve been sending us for appointments with the nurse practitioner and physician’s assistant.  So far they’ve been so much nicer and more encouraging than any of the OB’s I’ve had, so I’ve found it a welcome relief.  For that reason I am trying to just keep scheduling with them when I can.

One thing that has helped is the Sonoline B doppler.  It is amazing!  It arrived around 9 1/2 weeks in and it worked that same day!  It was tricky to figure out the right spot as there really is only one spot that picks up any vibrations, but once it does, it is amazing.  Each time we try we’ve been getting a little heart in their beat at around 170 bpm.  Since we have a long time in between ultrasounds, it is really the only reassurance we can get that things are ok in there.  For about $50 it was worth every penny.

Despite all this reassurance I still don’t feel like we are “expecting”.  My stomach looks the same and we haven’t told many people so it all feels like some fantasy in my mind.  That said I find myself afraid to do any real exercise other than walking or yoga.  I used to really enjoy Zumba and Cardio-dance-type classes, but now I just see all that jumping around and think it’s a recipe for miscarriage.  The OB said that it was safe to exercise, but I don’t really know what that means.  I’ve found websites online about pregnancy and exercise that say exercise is safe, but then there is the disclaimer that you should check with your doctor if you have a high risk pregnancy or recurrent loss.  That’s definitely us!  Our OB said it was ok, but I don’t believe him.  I don’t trust regular OBs on this one yet.

Sadly, because of this I’ve been feeling really stuck and having a hard time exercising at all.  That can’t be good. Does anyone have any suggestions for safe exercise routines for paranoid pregnant women like me?  Even yoga scares me a little when we do contra-indicated poses like inversions.  Oy!  I thought after week 12 I’d be in the “safe” zone, but I find myself still feeling very paranoid and overly cautious.  This Friday we are scheduled to go for our nuchal translucency ultrasound.  Fingers crossed!

Update: Nov. 27  I had my last of my weekly series of progesterone blood tests today.  I did this every week for the first trimester for my IVF Dr.  I can’t believe that’s the last prick on the horizon!   While I suspect more of these things come up as part of prenatal care it is exciting to be done with the tests that were for infertility, like somehow I’ve graduated.  Yeah!  Also, feeling less of the nausea and fatigue and more back to regular me.  It could be the magic of the second trimester kicking in or more likely the fact I stopped my nightly progesterone doses a few days ago.  Or maybe some combo of the two.  Either way it is a relief to feel more like myself.

17 Responses to “Week 12: We made it!”

  1. jjiraffe November 25, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Wonderful news!! I walked during my pregnancy. I was too scared to do anything else. The long walks were actually nice and cleared my head. Of course, I had to bring barf bags with me sometimes…;)

  2. robinflynn November 26, 2012 at 6:28 am #

    Congrats on getting to this milestone!! I went to prenatal yoga knowing it was for pregnant girls made me less worried and I went for walks. Both really helped keep my head clear and in a good place. But do what you are comfortable with whatever that is.

    • starfishkittydreams November 27, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

      That’s a good idea. Somehow I feel really shy about going until I am “showing”. I don’t feel like I am quite in the club yet.

  3. niccki1211 November 26, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    Check out some pregnancy yoga video’s I had one while pg and loved it. I can’t remember the name of it and I have since passed it on but there are a ton of them out there. Usually they are modified stances for each phase of pregnancy.

    • starfishkittydreams November 27, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

      Last time I checked out a pregnancy yoga video I was unknowingly days away from another miscarriage. Since then I’ve been a bit spooked that somehow it is bad luck. Hopefully with time I can get over it because it is a good idea and I’ve seen a few on Netflix streaming.

  4. missohkay November 26, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Congrats! I’m so glad you’ve made it this far! The first time I was pregnant and didn’t know about the spiral of loss I was going to go down, I proudly bought an exercise DVD of some olympic swimmer who did the whole video in her third trimester and explained what was safe for each trimester. I liked it. Of course I was only 8 weeks pregnant with a baby that wasn’t there, so I am no expert 😉

    • starfishkittydreams November 27, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

      That totally sounds like the stuff I did during my first pregnancy. So naive I was to what was coming.

  5. Hope November 26, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Congrats on making it to 12 weeks! I’m no expert, but I was going to suggest walking, too. I hope things continue to go well for you!

  6. Amy November 26, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Yay! This is a wonderful milestone, but I understand still not “feeling it” as such. I felt like a fake being there until probably T3, but my weekly prenatal yoga session was as far as I really took exercise (wasn’t too active before, honestly). I LOVED it, though. Was the one time I could force my body to relax, and most of the time my mind would follow, at least for a little while. So happy for you to be at this stage! (I loved the sonoline, too – saved my sanity a thousand times!)

  7. Nicole November 26, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    Congrats! I’m so gald to hear things are going well! I did prenatal yoga, but I really enjoyed swimming and my gym had a water work-out class that I really liked. The class was mainly for senior citizens, but it was great low impact workout and the teacher was really great about modifying things me and the other pregnant woman in the class.

    • starfishkittydreams November 27, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      That is really funny. I’ve been tempted to try the water work-out at my gym which is definitely for the older members. I figure I will be the only there under 60.

  8. mrs. brightside November 26, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Congrats congrats!! Huge milestone! Every milestone helps, but I know that it took many more before I really let my guard down. (STILL not all the way down, 1 week to go!) I was a real headcase with the exercise, especially when I had the 1st tri spotting and pretty much tried to be as immobile as possible. They say it’s safe to start prenatal at 14 weeks. I think I waited til about 17-18 weeks bc I was chicken shit, and the first class I took was at my fertility center since I knew it would be extra gentle. But since then I found a few other classes around town and learned to really love it. I gained trust that the instructors knew what was safe, and the confidence to listen to my body on how to adjust to make it feel right to me from week to week. It also was really therapeutic to be in a room full of pregnant woment, to feel like I belonged, to really connect with my body and the pregnancy. HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!! Dabble around to find a class that feels right to you, will be a great anchor. Other than that, I just walked. Stayed too chicken shit to do much else like cardio, weights, etc. In the confidence of hindsight, would be nice to be in better shape at this point, but whatever, it’s only temporary. The yoga was enough to stave off most aches, back pain, etc. Congrats again!

    • starfishkittydreams November 29, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

      I know that chicken feeling. Thank you for the recommendations! I think I will give it a shot in a few weeks, hopefully by then I will have some sort of bump and will feel more like I fit in.

  9. Foxy November 26, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    OH OH OH! Is it crazy that I am SO excited to read this post, SO over the moon excited for you. 12 weeks is a huge milestone.

    I am so glad that you found an OB that you are more comfortable with. It is important to feel safe with your doctor, and it sounds like this practice is much kinder and gentler.

    As for exercise, I really liked the prenatal yoga classes that I went to. They were a combination of gentle yoga, talking, and relaxation. The teachers at both classes I went to were the sweetest, most gentle souls, so nurturing and understanding. If only as a safe place to BE pregnant, when you are not announcing it to others, prenatal yoga is awesome.

    I love that you got the doppler.

    I can’t wait to see your belly grow – the spa will is calling, just let me know when you want to get together 🙂

    xoxo – Foxy

    • starfishkittydreams November 27, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

      You are so sweet! Thank you for thinking of me. I somehow equate going to one of those classes with announcing (even though odds are low I will be bump into anyone I know). I definitely have it on the radar. Just feeling shy to go with no real evidence of a bump yet. As if you need one to be admitted, or something. I am know I am crazy.

  10. Another Dreamer November 26, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    What fantastic news!

Leave a Reply

