Almost here! 34 weeks

28 Apr

I can’t believe how time has flown.  The first trimester felt so long and tentative and these last two feel like I’ve hit fast forward.  After being in the first trimester of egg shell walking and anxious/cautious optimism it feels almost unfair to have to zip through what has really been the best part, actually being able to enjoy the pregnancy.  For years I assumed pregnancy would suck considering what I’d been through.  I could not have been more wrong.  I can honestly say I’ve never been happier.  There is something so amazing about having a little one on the inside everywhere you go, alive and kicking.  I never anticipated so much movement.  It’s like she has a personality already.  I assumed I’d be on pins and needles until the day our baby arrived, but I feel like once I got the confirmation from my OB back in week 17 that she was really coming and this was really happening I just embraced it.  Once we crossed clearly into second trimester territory I felt like I was in a whole new place, unlike any of my previous experiences.  Each doctor’s visit was actually ending in good news, even just a lack of bad news was a gift.  Everything is confirmed “normal” and with that I feel like a new person back in the regular world.  Lucky number seven is expected on June 7 and all signs point to her arriving with no major complications at a healthy 6-7 lbs.  It’s hard to describe what it’s like to be here after my journey of 5+ years and 6 losses.  And it is still a mystery exactly what is different this time, what worked that hadn’t worked before.  Maybe it was the gluten-free/dairy-free diet, maybe the Vitamin D supplements, maybe the immunology treatments (doubtful!), maybe it was just time.  As they say, even a broken clock is right twice a day.

7 Responses to “Almost here! 34 weeks”

  1. Another Dreamer April 28, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    So glad that things are still going well, and wow you are so close now!

  2. Misfits April 28, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    That was my due date! Yay, lucky seven. I am thrilled at the update. I remember being still terrified, but excited. You are very nearly there!

  3. Hope April 28, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

    I am so glad that you are doing well and that things are continuing smoothly! I am so incredibly happy for you that you have been able to enjoy your pregnancy!

  4. Nicole April 28, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

    I’m so glad to hear things are going well!

  5. Louisa April 29, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    So very glad things are still going well and that you are feeling good! Yeah!!

  6. Amy April 30, 2013 at 9:57 am #

    This is so wonderful to read. I hope that she arrives just on time and safe and sound, and I am so happy that you’ve been able to enjoy these later parts of your pregnancy without too much reservation. Looking forward to reading your birth story (if you choose to share it)!

  7. missohkay June 14, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    Just checking in and hoping all is well!

Leave a comment