And now there are ten

22 Apr

Yeah! We made it through the retrieval!  15 eggs were collected, 14 matured and 10 were fertilized.  Now comes the chromosomal testing.  How many of these are actually chromosomally normal?  I am guessing we will lose at least another 5.  I know we only need a good one or two, but watching the numbers drop is a bit disheartening.  Three days from now (Wed.) we will both hear the results of the testing and do the transfer.  We can choose how many to implant at that point.  The decision may be made for us.  If there is only one left, that will be it.

Meanwhile we’ve changed to the new protocol of drugs which involves one injection of progesterone nightly.  I had my first last night and was expecting the worst.  I’ve heard these are really painful.  I was ready with my heating pad Mr. Star did some massaging.  It was the first time he actually gave me an injection which was a whole new step.   If we are lucky enough to have a successful IVF cycle it will be that way for weeks, so I better get used to it.

The one thing that surprised me after the egg retrieval was this new liquid restriction.  I am not allowed to drink more than 1 Liter of liquid a day.  I can not have water, only Gaterade or Propel.  I still have 3 more days of this.  I see my 1 liter bottle on the counter and I stare at it thinking, this is all you have left for the day.  It feels a bit like I am trapped in the desert.  The reasoning behind the restriction I was told was to prevent too much bloating in the ovaries..  When they retrieved the eggs liquid was extracted and the concern is that if I were to have too  much water those empty reserves would just fill up with liquid.  At the same time we are having a record heat wave, so I find myself obsessed with thinking about beverages.  Strangely alcoholic drinks are ok, so I was able to enjoy a glass of a wine and cocktail last night when we were out.    This is just a really weird step in the process I didn’t expect.  I am probably taking it way too seriously.

Today I am spoiling myself with a Reiki session!  My Resolve support group facilitator is also a certified Reiki practitioner and I am planning to see her today.  I had my first session with her a few weeks ago before the IVF process started.  I had been told that you can’t describe Reiki, you just have to do it.  So I did and it was AMAZING!  I had no idea what to expect, but figured it couldn’t hurt.  I found it to be an incredible physical and emotional release.  I felt like a new person afterwards.   I have no idea how my body will respond this time.  After having my eggs forcibly extracted from my body some holistic healing sounds a really good idea.  Plus I love talking to Linda who herself went through IVF to have her twins and has a very positive and comforting presence.    Looking forward to restoring some balance.

6 Responses to “And now there are ten”

  1. Hope April 22, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Yay for 10 fertilized embryos!!!!

  2. Misfit Mrs. April 23, 2012 at 5:11 am #

    Ten is fantastic. I can’t wait for Weednesday and have you in my thoughts as they do the chromosomal testing. It would be sweet to have so many to choose from after this. You had such great response, go little cells, go!

  3. missohkay April 23, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

    Ten is a magic number. Here’s to hoping you don’t lose many in the testing. I’ll second Misfit Mrs – go little cells, go!!!

  4. Nicole April 24, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Congratulations on the 10 eggs!

  5. bodegabliss April 25, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    I’m so incredibly happy that you are doing this and you have such positive numbers right now! That’s just fantastic. Sorry I’ve been MIA…but I’ve been thinking about you and sending good thoughts your way. xoxo

  6. mrs. brightside April 25, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Hurray for 10! Hoping you had some beauties make it to today and a successful transfer. I’ve done reiki before too, and it’s awesome! I don’t know what to believe in anymore, but all the Eastern stuff makes me feel better, so I am ALL FOR IT.

Leave a comment